Land Acknowledgement

Download the Land Acknowledgement

We humbly recognize all tribal elders, both past and present, and to respectfully honor them by acknowledging their stewardship through time immemorial on these ancestral homelands on which Carroll University resides.
Carroll University was created in 1846 and is located within the traditional homelands of the Ho-Chunk and Menominee Nations, as acknowledged by their creation stories. The University recognizes that the land on which we gather is territory ceded in the September 26, 1833, Treaty of Chicago and is the ancestral homelands of the Chippewa, Ottawa, and Potawatomie Indians. This land was a crossroads for many Tribal Nations and their people to access cultural resources, and many of their ancestors remain on this land.
We recognize the eleven sovereign Tribal Nations who reside in now what is known as the State of Wisconsin. These Nations are:

  • Bad River Band of Lake Superior Chippewa
  • Ho-Chunk Nation
  • Lac Courte Oreilles (Lah Cood o-ray) Band of Lake Superior Chippewa
  • Lac du Flambeau (LACK DO FLAMBOW) Band of Lake Superior Chippewa
  • Menominee Tribe of Wisconsin
  • Oneida (OWN EYE DUH) Nation
  • Forest County Potawatomi
  • Red Cliff Band of Lake Superior Chippewa
  • St. Croix Chippewa
  • Sokaogon (SCA GONE) Chippewa (Mole Lake), and the
  • Stockbridge-Munsee Band of Mohican Indians

Carroll University will strive to honor its duty to care for this land and to share in stewardship with all Sovereign Tribal Nations who recognize this land as theirs.

Authored by Jenn Youngblood ‘03

View of Carroll's campus
Panoramic View of campus